heavy metal


Tarja Get ready for an extra dark Christmas this year!

Acclaimed vocal powerhouse TARJA is bringing the festive season to your home in a unique way — with the reissue of her acclaimed holiday album From Spirits and Ghosts (Score for a Dark Christmas).

The reissue arrives on November 6 via earMUSIC. It will be available as a limited, 2CD digipak. Pre-order it here:

"On this album, I explored the other side of Christmas," Tarja shares. "The Christmas of the lonely people and the missing ones. The Christmas for those that do not find joy in the blinking lights and the jingle bells."

With this release, Tarja takes Christmas classics to a never-before-heard level — blending her classically-trained voice with darker gothic influences. The most successful Finnish solo artist to date utilizes the sound of a grand orchestra and puts a sinister spin on traditional seasonal favorites.

Along with the 12 Christmas carols from the original 2017 edition, the reissue includes three versions in alternate languages. There is also the collaboration with Tarja's friends Cristina Scabbia, Doro Pesch, Elize Ryd, Floor Jansen, Hansi Kürsch, Joe Lynn Turner, Marco Saaresto, Michael Monroe, Sharon Den Adel, Simone Simons, Timo Kotipelto, and Tony Kakko for the beloved "Feliz Navidad."

The 2020 edition of this festive album adds even more dark Christmas spirits. The reissue also features the previously unreleased live album Christmas Together: Live at Olomouc and Hradec Králové 2019. The material allows Tarja to transport her fans to an atmospheric celebration and invites them to be a part of her Christmas tours — no matter their location.

The album is produced by Tarja, the American Emmy Award-winning film score composer Jim Dooley, and British producer Tim Palmer, known for his work with Pearl Jam, U2, David Bowie, Lang Lang, and The Cure, who also mixed the album at 62 Studio in Texas. The album was mastered at Sterling Sound in New York City.

"O Come, O Come, Emmanuel"
"We Three Kings"
"Deck the Halls"
"Pie Jesu"
"Amazing Grace"
"O Tannenbaum"
"Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas"
"God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen"
"Feliz Navidad"
"What Child Is This"
"We Wish You a Merry Christmas"
"Sublime Gracia"
"Ô viens, Ô viens, Emmanuel"
"O Christmas Tree"
"Feliz Navidad" (Barbuda Relief and Recovery Charity Version)

CD 2:
Christmas Together: Live at Olomouc and Hradec Králové 2019
"Sydämeeni Joulun Teen"
"What Child Is This"
"O Come, O Come, Emmanuel"
"Varpunen Jouluaamuna"
"You Would Have Loved This"
"Ave Maria" (Paolo Tosti)
"Ave Maria" (Michael Hoppé)
"Ave Maria" (Giulio Caccini)
"Ave Maria" (Tarja Turunen)
"Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmas"
"The Christmas Song"
"Walking in the Air"
"Silent Night"

Additionally, Christmas Together: Live at Olomouc and Hradec Králové 2019 will be released as a limited, 2LP gatefold exclusively via the official Tarja shop on November 27.

Read More News

Tags:  TarjaNew AlbumNew SingleNew VideoHeavy Metal

    September 19, 2020

More News

Montreal Thrash HOMICIDE Celebrate The 25th Anniversary of "Malice and Forethought"
Canada’s Death Country Outfit Johnny Nocash and The Celtic Outlaws Release Gritty Video For “Burned"
POLYPHOZIA's "Foolish" Video Now Playing At New Noise Magazine
FEUERSCHWANZ Releases Official Music Video for “Hier kommt Alex”
SKELETHAL reveal new video from upcoming HELLS HEADBANGERS album


comments powered by Disqus