heavy metal

DARK TRANQUILLITY reveal the science of "Fiction"; new song online

Dark Tranquillity Swedish melodic death metal pioneers DARK TRANQUILLITY triumphantly return with "Fiction" in April 2007, an album that will undoubtedly add an exhilarating new chapter to the bands career. The album was mixed by Tue Madsen (Himsa, The Haunted) and encompasses all of the elements on which the band built their career: thought-provoking lyrics, shredding guitar work, captivating melodies and sheer brutality. This offering is perhaps best compared to a modern-day version of the group's revered classics "The Gallery" and "The Mind's I", only with more intensity behind it. The blueprint of melodic death metal is now at your fingertips.

Niklas Sundin (guitars) shares his thoughts on the new album: "Tue Madsen did a fantastic job with the sound, and the result is diverse and exciting enough to satisfy even the most critical of listeners. The 10 songs are extremely varied and showcase all facets of the D.T. experience while breaking new ground as well as reviving some elements that haven't been featured in D.T. songs since the early years. At the moment, we're putting the finishing touches to the packaging as well as preparing for the recording of the "Focus shift" and "Misery's Crown" promo videos. Directing is once again Roger Johansson, who worked with us on the videos for Character".

DARK TRANQUILLITY were one of the bands responsible for creating an entirely new genre of death metal in the early '90s, which came to be known as "The Gothenburg Sound." Their previous album, "Character", was hailed by critics and fans alike as the group's most savage and dynamic offering to date. They have solidified their fanbase through numerous tours alongside the likes of titans as Killswitch Engage, Kreator, In Flames, Opeth and Soilwork, among others.

In late March 2007, DARK TRANQUILLITY kick off the touring cycle for "Fiction" with a massive co-headlining U.S. run with The Haunted and Into Eternity followed by European summer festivals and a full length tour in autumn, revitalizing the genre they helped to create and further cementing their status as one of the scene's most influential metal bands.

Here's the final tracklist:

1. Nothing To No One
2. The Lesser Faith
3. Terminus (Where Death Is Most Alive)
4. Blind At Heart
5. Icipher
6. Inside The Particle Storm
7. Empty Me
8. Misery´s Crown
9. Focus Shift
10. The Mundane And The Magic

A Closer End – Japan Bonus Track

Winter Triangle – Instrumental Australia Bonus Track

The ltd. album version will include a bonus DVD with live songs, behind the scene footage, last album's "The New Build" promo video and the brand-new "Focus Shift" clip.

Cover artwork was done again by the band's guitarist Niklas Sundin. Photo by Marcus Bergman.

Release dates:

North America: Tuesday, April 17, 2007

Sweden: Wednesday, April 18, 2007

UK / FRANCE / SPAIN / DENMARK / NORWAY / REST OF EUROPE: Monday, April 23, 2007.
FINLAND / HUNGARY: Wednesday, April 25, 2007.


A pre-listening of "Focus Shift" can be found here:

Read More News


    January 31, 2007

More News

REVIEW: Upstate New York Thrash Chieftains - MONOLITH Re-master
NYDM - New York Death Metal Fest Destroys Milwaukee
Jersey Dogs – Thrash Ranch re-issue
Despicable False Claim Against Him, Tool + A Perfect Circle
As I Lay Dying Welcome Back Tim Lambesis

More News


comments powered by Disqus