heavy metal

Check out Monolith Cult's 'Gospel of Despair'!

Monolith Cult Gospel of Despair, the sophomore album from epic UK Doom quintet MONOLITH CULT was released November 17, 2017 on Transcending Records HERE!

Gospel of Despair was recorded at SkyHammer studios and produced and engineered by Chris Fielding of Conan. It is a massive progression in songwriting and production from the first album. MONOLITH CULT took influence from Mastodon, Iron Maiden, Rainbow and Black Sabbath (Dio era) to create a more epic metal sound and step away from the usual Doom, Stoner, Sludge sound that has been prevalent of late in the UK

Over the years in MONOLITH CULT and within other groups, band members have shared the stage with bands such as, Goatsnake, Slough Feg, Solstice, Procession, Entombed, Electric Wizard, Iron Monkey, Orange Goblin, My Dying Bride, EyeHateGod, and Spirit Caravan.


MONOLITH CULT were formed in 2012 by Bry Outlaw (Vocals, ex Khang, Threads), Lee Baines (Guitar, ex Khang, Serenity, Lazarus Blackstar and Solstice), when Bry and Lee were thinking about the possibility of resurrecting Khang. They asked Damo Clarke (Drums, ex When Giants Collide) to come down and jam through a couple of Khang tunes from the 2003 album Worship The Evil, but rather than attempt to bring Khang back to life. They killed it and decided to create new music for a new band. Soon Izak Buxton (Bass, ex Chorus of Ruin, Lazarus Blackstar and current Solstice) was on board. The first album 2013 "Run From The Light" was released as a 4 piece, and received excellent reviews. But with Lee wanting to progress with the sound of the band, Wayne Hustler (Guitar, Ironrat) swore an allegiance to the Cult. This allowed the band's sound to expand with the addition of extra melodies and harmonies. Before recording "Gospel of Despair" Damo had to take time out due to family commitments, Dan Mullins (Drums, My Dying Bride, Bal-Sagoth) stepped in to assist in preproduction and the recording of the album. Recently though Damo has returned and has been re-initiated into the brotherhood.

Album lineup

Bryan Outlaw - Vocals
Lee Baines - Guitar
Wayne Hustler - Guitar
Izak Buxton - Bass
Damo (Prodigal Son) Clarke - Drums
All drums on the album played by Dan Mullins.

Facebook: HERE!

Read More News

Tags:  Monolith CultGospel of DespairSludge MetalDoom Metal 

    November 27, 2017

More News

SEPULTURA Announce Their Rescheduled North American Quadra Tour With SACRED REICH, CROWBAR & ART OF SHOCK!
MORTUOUS Releases Limited Vinyl Repress Of Through Wilderness Debut Via Carbonized Records
Southern Lord Releases Remastered Versions Of ENGINE KID's "Bear Catching Fish And Angel Wings" Digitally At Bandcamp
KORPIKLAANI Premiere Their "Harmaja" Live Video
Finland's FRONT reveal first video for new IRON BONEHEAD mini-album


comments powered by Disqus