heavy metal

ORIGIN Reveals Tracklisting

Origin American technical death metallers ORIGIN will release their new album, Entity, on June 10th via Nuclear Blast Records in Europe. A North American street date has been announced for June 7th.

Entity will feature the following tracklisting:

'Expulsion Of Fury'
'Conceiving Death'
'The Descent'
'Banishing Illusion'
'Consequence Of Solution'
'Evolution Of Extinction'

Bonus Track:
'You Fail!'

Drummer John Longstrength previously commented on the visual aspect of their forthcoming release: "As you can see, we're getting closer and closer to having a new album available for you. This has been a project that has been a long time in the making with all the unexpected twists and turns that come with creating an album and we are almost there. So, this is the new album cover! Designed by the band and executed flawlessly by artist extraordinaire, Colin Marks. As you can see, this time there's no aliens, no scary faces, no silly comic book imagery, no bullshit. It’s back to basics for the people that don't fall for, or appreciate bullshit trends that currently compromise the validity of this art. Let this album cover with its grey, dead, coldness reflect our disdain for the misconception that Origin is represented by a giant, planet eating, scary face that's aimlessly roaming the cosmos like an idiot. Like the cover, the music on this album is stone, its cold, its serious, its desolate, its very angry, its the band unified, and working overtime to create what we feel will be the finest 45 min Origin has created yet. This album is its own bitter Entity."

Commented artist Colin Marks: “It's been a real pleasure collaborating with the Origin guys on the artwork for Entity. From the beginning John had a very specific vision of how this record should look and I tried to interpret that as accurately as possible. The whole look of the album, the way I see it, is a suffocating vision of absolute solitude and isolation, with huge barren otherworldly landscapes. It's a simple concept but it works well and hopefully reflects the bleak tones and heaviness of the new songs."

One of the most intense and technical forces of the contemporary death metal world, Origin has returned to stake its claim as the leader of metal's new wave of extremity with its fifth studio effort. As expected, the death grind trio of Mike Flores (bass, vocals), Paul Ryan (guitar, vocals) and John Longstreth (drums) continues to churn out frantic, hell-paced grids of metal torment, but now further complements the arrangements with a newfound propensity for churning grooves and the hook-laden approach that first reared its ugly, but accessible head on the band's 2007 offering, Antithesis. The band once again returned to Chapman Recording Studios in Lenexa, Kansas to work with longtime engineer and friend Robert Rebeck.

Origin will be heading out on the road this summer with HATE ETERNAL, VITAL REMAINS and ABYSMAL DAWN, which will easily be one of the heaviest line-ups of the year.


15 - Emo's - Austin, TX
16 - Sorority House - Amarillo, TX
17 - The Marquis Theatre - Denver, CO
19 - The Clubhouse - Tempe, AZ
20 - The Key Club - Hollywood, CA
21 - Slim's - San Francisco, CA
22 - The Alley - Sparks, NV
24 - Studio Seven - Seattle, WA
25 - Rickshaw Theater - Vancouver, BC
26 - Lake City Bowl - Kelowna, BC
27 - The Distillery - Calgary, AB
28 - Pawn Shop - Edmonton, AB
30 - The Exchange - Regina, SK

1 - Royal Albert Arms - Winnipeg, MB
2 - Station 4 - St. Paul, MN
3 - The Annex - Madison, WI
5 - Reggie's Rock Club - Chicago, IL
6 - Peabody's - Cleveland, OH
7 - Wreck Room - Toronto, ON
8 - Les Foufounes Electriques - Montreal, QC
9 - The Palladium - Worcester, MA
10 - Santo's Party House - New York, NY
13 - The Oasis - Charleston, SC
14 - Firestone Live - Orlando, FL

Read More News

Tags:  Origin    

    April 08, 2011

More News

AMORIELLO Reveals First Teaser
Behemoth I Loved You at Your Darkest
Anthony Vincent of 10 Second Songs Releases Drake's

More News


comments powered by Disqus