heavy metal

VYGR Announces New Album, Releases New Track

Massachusetts’ Ambient-Sludge masters VYGR (pronounced “Voyager”) have announced the release of their highly anticipated full-length debut, “Hypersleep”. The Double-LP/CD release will hit stores on January 25th, 2011 via Creator-Destructor Records. A track from the record entitled “Shapeshifters” is now available to stream at VYGR’s bandcamp website:

The band entered Planet Z studios with acclaimed Producer Zeuss (Shadows Fall, The Acacia Strain, Arsis) in Massachusetts for the production of “Hypersleep”. Guitarist PJ Mion states: “Working with Zeuss was a great experience for us. From the start he was on board with wanting to capture our live sound, getting everything to sound huge while avoiding the use of click tracks/sound replacement/re-amping etc. that seems to increasingly be the norm for most 'heavy' music these days. The end result is a heavy, spaced out metal record that actually sounds like it was played by human beings. Coinciding with this release we're planning for a much more active show schedule, always playing as loud as humanly possible."

“Hypersleep” Tracklisting:

1. Solar
2. Flares
3. Orbital Hallucinations
4. Galactic Garbage
5. -
6. The Hidden
7. Shapeshifters
8. Unmoved Mover
9. Path to the Unknown
10. Event Horizon
11. We Drift
12. A Distant Beacon

Blending the drone and gloom of bands such as Cult of Luna, Mare, and Neurosis with downtuned riffs reminiscent of Crowbar and Old Man Gloom, the northeastern five-piece adds their own experimental, space-oriented flare to a genre that prides itself on aesthetically crushing tones and sonic passages.

Having spent the last few years supporting their critically acclaimed self-titled EP in the Northeastern region of the United States, VYGR has certainly made waves in the underground doom and metal communities. In early 2010, the band released a split 12” with the almighty MONOLITH, an effort that showcases the group’s more experimental tendencies.

VYGR plans to support the release of “Hypersleep” with heavy regional touring, and a run of West Coast shows shortly after the release of the record. For all tour-dates and updates, visit

Read More News

Tags:  VygrZeuss   

    November 29, 2010

More News

Winners at the Metal Hammer Golden God Awards in London.
Brass Owl Self-Released 22 June 2018
-PRESS RELEASE 9TH MAY 2018- UK tech-metal pioneers ready to Krank it up in South Africa
Scars on Broadway Release Chugging Album Title Track “Dictator”

More News


comments powered by Disqus