heavy metal

OBITUARY To Unleash Live Xecution

Obituary Beginning their career as Xecutioner in 1984, OBITUARY remains one of the most influential and groundbreaking bands in the death metal genre they inadvertently helped forge. Hailing from the sunny state of Florida, the band's decidedly un-sunny take on metal integrated devastatingly slow, lead-footed riffing with obliterating overtures and guttural screams; the adrenaline of a speedball with the slow, degrading measures of a sewer at dusk. It was a sound unlike anything anyone had heard prior. Engineered by the legendary Scott Burns at Morrisound Studio (which would consequently become one of the most sought after production facilities during the death metal surge of the '90s), OBITUARY's Slowly We Rot debut remains a pinnacle release among all walks of metal; a carnal pleasure for doom, death and thrash fans alike. After eight full-length albums and several smaller releases the band remains one of the most important death metal bands in the world.

OBITUARY's Live Xecution - Live Party.San 2008 DVD finds the band -- vocalist John Tardy, drummer brother John Tardy, guitarists Trevor Peres and Ralph Santolla and bassist Frank Watkins -- at their performing best. Recorded live last year at the renown German open air fest, the DVD includes their full 15-song set + bonus footage. Said Frank Watkins of the show, "We did over 30 festivals last summer and the Party San Festival in Bad Barka, Germany was the very last and best one for OBITUARY. Fortunately the show was was like a Live Xecution!"

01. "Find the Arise"
02. "On the Floor"
03. "Chooped in Half"
04. "Turned Inside Out"
05. "Forces Realign"
06. "Insane"
07. "Face Your God"
08. "Dethroned Emperor"
09. "Evil Ways"
10. "Drop Dead"
11. "Contrast the Dead"
12. "Second Chance"
13. "Stand Alone"
14. "Slow Death"
15. "Slowly We Rot"
+ bonus features

Live Xecution - Live Party.San 2008 DVD will be released in the US in January 2010 via Regain Records.

Read More News

Tags:  ObituaryLive XecutionJohn TardyRegain RecordsMorrisound Studio

    November 23, 2009

More News

ORPHAN DONOR: Solo Project Of Secret Cutter Drummer For March Release
Top 15 Metal Law Enforcement Songs
Top 10 Metal Albums of the 2010s
ON THORNS I LAY To Release "Threnos"


comments powered by Disqus