Evanescence Album Review

Evanescence album cover   Band Name: Evanescence
Album Name: Open The Door
Rating: 4.5 / 5       User Rating: 0 / 5
Label: Wind-Up
Buy Album: Amazon.com
Rate Album: Rate

1. Sweet Sacrifice
2. Call Me When You're Sober
3. Weight of the World
4. Lithium
5. Cloud Nine
6. Snow White Queen
7. Lacrymosa
8. Like You
9. Lose Control
10. The Only One
11. Your Star
12. All That I'm Living For
13. Good Enough

Evanescence has been through a lot in their somewhat short history. Amy Lee and Ben Moody founded the band in 1998, and broke big in 2003 with the single 'Bring me to Life'. 'Fallen', the album that featured 'Bring me to Life' had thus far sold over 14 million copies. Of course, it's never really a bad thing to sell 14 million records, but it can spell doom for a band as much as it can success. This appeared to be the case with Evanescence, since 'Fallen' was released in March of 2003 and only seven months later founding member and co-songwriter Ben Moody had left the band. The reasons why Ben left the band continue to be speculated and debated but it definitely appears to have something to do with the trapping of success. Especially considering Ben's collaborations with well-known top selling pop divas like Avril Lavigne, Kelly Clarkson, and Lindsay Lohan since he left Evanescence.

But seriously, enough about Ben. With Evanescence's new album 'The Open Door' it becomes all to clear that Amy Lee is more than capable continuing Evanescence and taking it to new levels musically. She has also found a new musical partner in guitarist Terry Balsamo formerly of the band Cold. Originally Terry was just filling in because Ben left Evanescence in the middle of a tour, but Terry and Amy clicked musically and ended up collaborating as songwriters on 'The Open Door'. However, the tumultuous history of Evanescence added a new chapter in November of 2005 when Terry, who is only 33 years old, had a stroke. Understandably "The Open Door" was pushed back from March 2006 to October 2006. Miraculously, Terry is now at least partially recovered and touring with the band.

After all of the strife, Evanescence has emerged with a heart felt, heavy, mature album that hit billboards charts number one spot in its first week. "The Open Door" Maintains the Alternative/Goth/Rock sound that made Evanescence famous but explores it further and deeper than before. Though some of the slick hooks of 'Fallen' are absent, the songs have more complex rhythms and classical interludes than Evanescence's previous work. "The Open Door" has the kind of intense, complex songs where you hear something new each time you listen to them rather than songs that hammer you with a poppy chorus. Perhaps Evanescence was influenced by some of the Goth rock coming out of Europe right now like Leave's Eyes, or maybe it's just the natural course of things musically for the band.

In the end though it's hard to pin point all the influences of Evanescence since each song on "The Open Door" has it's own distinct sound. 'Lacrymosa' has a violin intro, synth worth of a Nine Inch Nails album, and Omen-esque choral sections that are very haunting. 'All That I am Living For' has a very heavy chorus, melodic verses and intense lyrics. The song 'Lithium', the second single after 'Call me When your Sober' (which sounds nothing like the Nirvana song of the same name by the way) is a piano ballad in the same fashion as 'My Immortal' except that it has more of that intense, crazed, Tori Amos feel to it. Over all 'The Open Door' keeps the listener involved by not taking the predictable turns that commercial alternative rock albums can take. It blends instruments and styles to create a unique sound all it's own. I highly recommend it.

Review by: Colette Claire

Read Member Reviews
Advertise | Add Content | Privacy Policy | Contact Us | Twitter | Rankings | Bookmark | © Copyright 1996-2020 The Gauntlet®